Looking for Scholarly Articles? Try the MLA Bibliography
Need a pre-1700 English text? Search Early English Books Online
Not sure what "narratology" means? Check the Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory & Criticism
Can't figure out the origin of the word "bodkin?" Look it up in the Oxford English Dictionary
Want basic biographical information on a particular writer? Use the Literature Resource Center
Like to hear Paul Muldoon read Dylan Thomas? Listen to audio poems in Columbia Granger's World of Poetry
View of Bath, ca. 1800
The current circulating collection in Olin Library encompasses all British and Commonwealth (e.g., Canada, Australia, Ireland, Wales, New Zealand, etc.) literatures and languages. Historically, the strongest areas are in the Medieval and 18th century portions of the collection, as well as in Irish literature.
British Periodicals Database Is Now Available
British Periodicals, offering searchable full text and facsimile page images for nearly 500 British periodicals published from the 17th through the early 20th centuries, is now accessible to the Cornell community. Topics covered include literature, philosophy, history, science, the fine arts and the social sciences. The complete title list and issue coverage is available on an Excel spreadsheet. Many thanks to faculty in the English and History departments for supporting the effort to add this rich resource to the Library’s digital collections.
NEW! Oxford Bibliographies Online!
The Library has recently acquired access to Oxford Bibliographies. British and Irish Literature
"With advances in online searching and database technologies, researchers and practitioners can easily access library catalogs, bibliographic indexes, and other lists that show thousands of resources that might also be useful to them. In this situation what is most needed is expert guidance. Researchers and practitioners at all levels need tools that help them filter through the proliferation of information sources to material that is reliable and directly relevant to their inquiries. [Edited by Andrew Hadfield,] Oxford Bibliographies in British and Irish Literature will offer a trustworthy pathway through the thicket of information overload." (publisher)
"Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on the literature of the Victorian period, which encompasses the reign of Queen Victoria from 1837 to 1901. Bibliographies are browseable by subject area and keyword searchable. Contains a 'My OBO' function that allows users to create personalized bibliographies of individual citations from different bibliographies." (publisher)
Oxford English Dictionary Word of the Day: