Skip to main content

Middle East Studies: a guide to resources in English: Histories & Chronologies

Selected English-language sources useful for the study of the Middle East and Islam

Histories & Chronologies

Historical Dictionaries

Historical Dictionaries
The volumes in this series by
Scarecrow Press provides a brief overview of the history and development of countries, regions, organizations, movements, and religions. Search the library catalog by title for "Historical dictionary of" (e.g. Historical Dictionary of Egypt) to find volumes available at Cornell.

  • Historical Dictionary of Afghan wars, revolutions, and insurgencies
  • Historical Dictionary of Afghanistan
  • Historical Dictionary of Algeria
  • Historical Dictionary of Arab and Islamic Organizations
  • Historical Dictionary of Egypt
  • Historical Dictionary of Iran
  • Historical Dictionary of Iraq
  • Historical Dictionary of Islam
  • Historical Dictionary of Islamic fundamentalist movements in the Arab world, Iran, and Turkey
  • Historical Dictionary of Israel
  • Historical Dictionary of Israeli Intelligence
  • Historical dictionary of Judaism
  • Historical Dictionary of Lebanon
  • Historical Dictionary of Libya
  • Historical Dictionary of Morocco
  • Historical Dictionary of Palestine
  • Historical Dictionary of Prophets in Islam and Judaism
  • Historical Dictionary of Saudi Arabia
  • Historical Dictionary of Sufism
  • Historical Dictionary of Syria
  • Historical Dictionary of the Arab-Israeli Conflict
  • Historical Dictionary of the Bahá’í Faith
  • Historical Dictionary of the Coptic Church
  • Historical Dictionary of the Crusades
  • Historical Dictionary of the Druzes
  • Historical Dictionary of the Gulf Arab States
  • Historical Dictionary of the Kurds
  • Historical Dictionary of the non-aligned movement and Third World
  • Historical Dictionary of the Ottoman Empire
  • Historical Dictionary of the Persian Gulf War, 1990-1991
  • Historical Dictionary of the Sudan
  • Historical Dictionary of Tunisia
  • Historical Dictionary of Turkey
  • Historical Dictionary of United States-Middle East relations
  • Historical Dictionary of Yemen
  • Historical Dictionary of Zionism

Handbooks