Skip to main content

Dissertations and Theses: A Finding Guide: Non-Cornell
Theses

Where and how to look for Cornell and non-Cornell dissertations and theses. Click on the TABS to see each section.

Other Universities

Dissertations and Theses from Other Universities
STEP ONE: Search ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global.
 
According to ProQuest, coverage begins with 1637. With more than 2.4 million entries, ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global is the starting point for finding citations to doctoral dissertations and master’s theses. Dissertations published from 1980 forward include 350-word abstracts written by the author. Master’s theses published from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts. UMI also offers over 1.8 million titles for purchase in microfilm or paper formats. The full text of more than 930,000 are available in PDF format for immediate free download. Use our interlibrary loan service for the titles not available full text online.

STEP TWO: Check the Cornell Library Catalog.

Check our catalog before placing an interlibrary loan request. We may have a copy of a dissertation from another university--either purchased by the library, or purchased by an individual student or faculty member and later donated to the library collection.

STEP THREE: (Not found in ProQuest or the Cornell Library Catalog)

Search for Foreign Dissertations at the Center for Research Libraries:

To search for titles and verify holdings of dissertations at the Center for Research Libraries, use the CRL catalog. CRL seeks to provide comprehensive access to doctoral dissertations submitted to institutions outside the U. S. and Canada (currently more than 750,000 titles). One hundred European universities maintain exchange or deposit agreements with CRL. Russian dissertation abstracts in the social sciences are obtained on microfiche from INION. More detailed information about CRL's dissertation holdings.

European dissertations and theses:

DART-Europe E-Theses Portal

Advanced search allows you to limit to a particular country, institution, year, or language. The earliest listed thesis year is 1597. There are nearly 66,000 theses and dissertations for the year 2012. The full text of some theses is available online.

DART-Europe is a partnership of research libraries and library consortia who are working together to improve global access to European research theses. DART-Europe is the European Working Group of the Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD).

The DART-Europe partners help to provide researchers with a single European Portal for the discovery of Electronic Theses and Dissertations (ETDs). [http://www.dart-europe.eu/About/info.php]

UK dissertations:

The full text of many UK dissertations are now available through the British Library's EThOS service. EThOS contains citations for over 480,000 UK dissertations and full-text access for over 100,000 titles. EBSCO's Open Dissertations database also has records from the British Library's EThOS service.

Index to Theses with abstracts accepted for higher degrees by the universities of Great Britain and Ireland and the Council for National Academic Awards.
London: Aslib.

Theses on any subject submitted by the academic libraries in the UK and Ireland back to 1716. The full text of some dissertations may be purchased from the British Library.

French dissertations:

Catalogue des thèses de doctorat soutenues devant les universités françaises.
Paris: Direction des bibliothèques de France, 1884-1978. (Library Annex Z 5055 .F79 A3)

and

Inventaire des thèses de doctorat soutenues devant les universités françaises.... Paris: Université de Paris I, Bibliothèque de la Sorbonne..., 1982-1991.(Library Annex Z 5055 .F79 I62)

Print listings of French dissertations covering 1884 to 1991.

Verifying German dissertations:

Die Deutsche Bibliothek Database.Die Deutsche Bibliothek Database contains 6.5 million records representing the holdings of the National Library of Germany, which, following the unification of Germany in October 1990, combines the Deutsche Bucherei Leipzig and the Deutsche Bibliothek Frankfurtam Main (including the Deutsche Musikarchiv Berlin). The library collects and catalogs all printed and electronic publications issued in Germany, published abroad in German, translated from German-language publications, and works in any language about Germany (Germanica). The records represent monographs, periodicals, microforms, dissertations, visual materials, maps, printed and recorded music, and electronic publications issued since 1945.

Deutsche Nationalbibliographie und Bibliographie der im Ausland erschienenen deutschsprachigen Veröffentlichungen. Reihe H, Hochschulschriften.
Frankfurt am Main: Buchhändler-Vereinigung H01, Jan. 1991- . (Olin Library Z 5055 .G37 .D48); latest 5 years in Reference.

Subject Heading: Dissertations, Academic--Germany--Bibliography--Periodicals.

Previous title: Deutsche Bibliographie. Hochschulschriften-Verzeichnis Deutsche Bibliographie. Hochschulschriften-Verzeichnis.

Requests for non-Cornell dissertations

Requests for non-Cornell dissertations by Cornellians:

Students and faculty wishing to obtain a copy of a dissertation or thesis that is not available full text in ProQuest Dissertations and Theses can request the title using our https://www.library.cornell.edu/services/request/interlibrary-loan">interlibrary loan service . Questions may be directed to the Interlibrary Services (ILS) staff: contact information.

The Purchase option: It is also possible to purchase dissertations directly through UMI Dissertation Express (back to June 1954). Not all universities participate (for instance, MIT). The ILS staff can help with questions about dissertation purchases.