Skip to main content

CHEME 4620: Chemical Process Design (Spring 2015): Databases and
e-Books

Learn important ways to become more efficient when it comes to finding information.

Top Databases

Resource
Description

Information Resources for Engineering Students

Cornell Library Catalog has records for 8 million books and thousands of journals and articles.Lacks the complete coverage of INSPEC, Compendex, and Web of Science. Request scan from the library annex and interlibrary loan.

 


Now available through Access Engineering (McGraw-Hill). No longer on Knovel. Includes state-of-the-art coverage of all aspects of chemical engineering —from the fundamentals to details on computer applications and control.

Not available through Knovel, Kirk-Othmer is online separately through Wiley. Once connected, click Search in the book. Articles on chemical substances—including their properties, manufacturing, and uses. Also focuses on industrial processes and unit operations in chemical engineering.

Includes over 1,000 articles relating to industrial chemistry. Note "search in this book" feature to optimize searching.

 
2,000 technical e-books, including chemical engineering. Use their Data Search tool to locate property data. 
Access Engineering has hundreds of McGraw-Hill books and instructional videos, Includes Perry's Chemical Engineers' Handbook, Biofuels Engineering Process Technology, and Schaum's Outlines.
 

CRC EngNetBase 2,000 books by CRC and Taylor & Francis, including 210 books in chemical engineering (ChemicalEngineeringNetBase).

Derwent Innovations Index Available through Thomson Reuter's Web of Science, Derwent includes value-added patent title descriptions and citation information to world and US patents from 1963 to date. Important tool in addition to Google Patents.
 
OnePetro has articles published by the Society of Petroleum Engineers.

Must create a free login here if you have never used before. SciFinder indexes chemical patents as well as the chemical research literature. Provides manufacturer websites for chemicals. Click Explore Substances, then Substance Identifie to see manufacturers.

Cost Indices

Ex. see OGJ Subscriber Surveys in Oil and Gas Journal and Nelson & Farrar Cost Index

Provides industry research reports such as Petrochemical Manufacturing. Each report provides key statistics, market characteristics and segmentation, industry conditions, leading competitors, industry performance analysis and future outlook.
Factiva has full text magazines and newspapers, including Platt's commodity news, Dow Jones news. See screencast.
 
Take a Break!  Overdrive has popular online books available for check-out onto your electronic devices.

Engineering Librarian

Jill Powell
Contact:
103A Carpenter Hall
Engineering Library
Cornell University
Ithaca, NY 14853
jhp1@cornell.edu
engrref@cornell.edu
607-255-8701
Subjects:Engineering

Management Library

Management Library Research Team

Contact Info:
101 Sage Hall
The Johnson School
Cornell University
607-255-3389
Send Email