Skip to main content

Omeka: Primary Sources

Guide to accompany library workshop on building online collections with Omeka. Omeka is a free, open source platform for publishing digital collections on the web.

What is Microfilm?

 When you can't find published primary sources, you may be able to get ahold of electronic or microfilm copies

Much archival primary source material has been filmed over the years, but using it will take some getting used to.  Ask for help with microfilm, microfiche, or microcards at a reference desk!

A sense of what it is and how you use it: Using Microfilm


Electronic resources

This is just a sampling of the many, many primary resources available in electronic form. Try the "primary sources" section of the main library web site.

Division of Rare & Manuscript Collections

Housed on the lowest level of Kroch Library, the Division of Rare and Manuscript Collections is open for research Monday-Friday and some Saturdays during the semester. Please consult their web site for specific hours. This is Cornell's largest collection of archival and rare book materials. While books are listed in the library catalog, archival collections are described on the collection (rather than at the item) level. Notable collections are described here.

Please note the following policy: before using the collections, you must set up a research account and present photo identification. Set up your account online first--you can request materials in advance of your visit--then when you visit the Reference Room (level 2B Kroch), present photo identification. Be sure to check their web site for specific hours of operation.

You may also be interested in the Kheel Center for Labor-Management Documentation & Archives and its archival collections.

Web Accessibility Assistance