Skip to main content

MUSIC 2260: Music of the 1960s (Spring 2015): Music Library Resources

A guide to research strategies, information resources, and library services compiled for Professor Benjamin Piekut's course, Music of the 1960s.

Music Library Website and Guide

Music Databases and Indexes

Digitized Scores

Music & Performing Arts (Alexander Street) contains Music Online: Classical Scores Library, a digital library of classical scores and manuscripts.

IMSLP is a community-built digital library, consisting primarily of scores that are in the public domain.

Sibley Music Library at Eastman also has a digital library of scanned scores that are in the public domain.

Streaming Audio and Video

Music & Performing Arts (Alexander Street) is a collection of cross-searchable databases that include text, streaming audio and video, and digitized scores. Search the databases together as well as individually for the most reliable results.

Naxos Music Library, Naxos Music Library (Jazz), and Naxos Video Library are streaming audio and video databases of classical and jazz music from Naxos and other labels.

medici.tv is a video-on-demand database that contains performances from classical music festivals all over the world, as well as documentaries, master classes, etc.

DRAM is a streaming audio database of music from New World Records and other labels.

Met Opera on Demand delivers instant access to past performances of the Metropolitan Opera's Live in HD series, as well as classic video and audio performances, including radio broadcasts dating back to 1936. 

Search Tip

Start with Oxford Music Online, which contains several music reference sources, to get an overview of a topic. Consult relevant articles and their bibliographies. For topics in world music, Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online is also a good place to start.

Keep in mind, though, that reference sources like this are not continuously updated. Search literature indexes like RILM and Music Index Online (separately or simultaneously) for more recent books, book chapters, articles, and dissertations.

Search the Library Catalog (for books) and Articles & Full Text (for articles) to locate specific items cited in bibliographies, and to see what else may be available. 

*** (If you are looking for a chapter from a book, search the title of the book rather than the title of the chapter. If you are looking for a journal article, search the title of the article, rather than the title of the journal.

Web Accessibility Assistance