Skip to main content

MUSIC 2260: Music of the 1960s (Spring 2015): More Library Resources

A guide to research strategies, information resources, and library services compiled for Professor Benjamin Piekut's course, Music of the 1960s.

General Resources

In addition to the resources recommended in the Music Library Resources page, try searching in these interdisciplinary resources.

General Databases

Library Catalog, Articles, Etc.

You can search for books, articles, scores, recordings, videos, etc. all in one place.

Consult the Help page for Search Tips.

Accessing Articles at Cornell

The Articles & Full Text feature on the main Library web page allows you to perform simple searches across multiple databases. Because the various databases are structured differently, search results may vary widely. However, it's great for accessing articles that you have seen cited in a bibliography. Enter a few keywords from the title of the article and the author's last name.

 

 

Finding Books in the Library Catalog

The Cornell Library Catalog includes the holdings of all Ithaca campus libraries, in addition to those of the Geneva Experiment Station. The catalog contains records for books, computer files, government documents, manuscripts and archives,maps, musical scores, periodicals, serials, sound recordings, and visual materials.

To search only the Library Catalog, click on the catalog link as indicated by the yellow arrow.

 

The "All Fields" search will retrieve matches for your search terms wherever they appear in the description of an item, but you may use the pulldown menu to the right of the search box to limit to title, author, subject, publisher, or call number.

 

The Cornell University Library uses Library of Congress Subject Headings as the standard for searching by subject and for narrowing down results by subject. Browse the options in the Subject facets to retrieve items with a particular subject heading.

 

When looking at the description of an item, you can click on any of the subject terms to retrieve other items with that same subject:

 

Search Tip

JSTOR is great, but don't stop there, because you may be missing out on newer content that is not yet available in JSTOR. Be sure to search in multiple databases, both general (this page) and discipline-specific (music library resources page).

If you find a thesis or dissertation of interest in ProQuest, be sure to search for publications by the same author in the Library Catalog and the Articles & Full Text search. That author may have published articles or a book on the same topic or related topics.

Web Accessibility Assistance