"Culture" is broadly defined to include food, sport, religion, television, transport, alongside architecture, dance, film, literature, music and sculpture. The international team of contributors include many who are based in Latin America and the Caribbean making this the most essential, authoritative and authentic Encyclopedia for anyone studying Latin American and Caribbean studies.
The Encyclopedia of Literary and Cultural Theory
by Michael Ryan (General Editor)
"...covers the modern history of the Middle East and North Africa, with major sections on literature, colonialism and imperialism, the World Wars, and the Israeli-Palestinian conflict...... articles are written by specialists in anthropology, history, political science, religion and social sciences." [excerpts from publisher description]
Note: The online edition is part of the Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL) collection. To search the Encyclopedia of the Modern Middle East and North Africa, scroll down to search within publication.
"The overseas empires of Western Europe, including the US first as colony then as colonizer, is deemed here to have ended in the middle to late 20th century. Over 400 articles provide information about such aspects as economic concepts and ideas, explorations and migrations, industries, organizations and institutions, people and peoples, religions." [excerpted from publisher description]
".... covers the entire history of British literature from the seventh century to the present, focusing on the writers and the major texts of what are now the United Kingdom and the Republic of Ireland.
Note: The online edition is part of the Oxford Reference Collection. To search the Oxford Encyclopedia of British Literature, scroll down to find the search within work search window in the left-hand column.
The Encyclopedia of Twentieth-Century Latin American and Caribbean Literature, 1900-2003 draws together entries on all aspects of literature including authors, critics, major works, magazines, genres, schools and movements in these regions from the beginning of the twentieth century to the present day.
Arab Women Writers
by Ferial Ghazoul; Radwa Ashour; Hasna Reda-Mekdashi
"An invaluable new reference source and critical review of Arab women writers from the last quarter of the nineteenth century to the end of the twentieth century .... With its broad scope and extensive research, this book is an indispensable resource for anyone interested in Arabic literature, women's studies, or comparative literature." [publisher]
Also available in ebook format from ebrary.
"The most comprehensive reference work on African literature to date, this book covers all the key historical and cultural issues in the field. The Encyclopedia contains over 600 entries covering criticism and theory, African literature's development as a field of scholarship, and studies of established and lesser-known writers and their texts." [publisher]
Reference Stacks -- Main Floor of Olin Library
Subject encyclopedias can be a valuable resource for almost any research topic.