Skip to main content

Reality Music TV in the Age of Global Culture: Media Resources

A guide to library resources and services for Anaar Desai-Stephens' class, Reality Music TV in the Age of Global Culture (Music 1701, Fall 2014 and Spring 2015). Prepared by Tracey Snyder and Fred Muratori.

Film Library Guide

Reference Sources

Olin Reference Collection

Olin Library Reference Collection

Encyclopedias are great for:

  • choosing a topic
  • educating yourself quickly
  • perspective on a topic
  • variant spellings, vocabulary, terminology
  • bibliography

Journal Article Databases for Television and Media

The Articles & Full Text feature on the main Library web page allows you to perform simple searches across multiple databases. Because the various databases are structured differently, search results may vary widely.

For more precise searching, it's best to search the databases individually. See the recommended databases below, or click on Databases from the Library home page and browse by subject.



NOTE:  If your research is focused on Asian countries, also consider searching:

Finding Books in the Library Catalog

The Cornell Library Catalog includes the holdings of all Ithaca campus libraries, in addition to those of the Geneva Experiment Station. The catalog contains records for books, computer files, government documents, manuscripts and archives,maps, musical scores, periodicals, serials, sound recordings, and visual materials.

To search only the Library Catalog, click on the catalog link as indicated by the yellow arrow.

 

The "All Fields" search will retrieve matches for your search terms wherever they appear in the description of an item, but you may use the pulldown menu to the right of the search box to limit to title, author, subject, publisher, or call number.

The Cornell University Library uses Library of Congress Subject Headings as the standard for subject searching.  Limit your search to Subject to retrieve items that contain your terms as part of their LC heading:

A useful Library of Congress Subject Headings for this class is REALITY TELEVISION PROGRAMS. 

Here are a few more media-related subject headings that could be useful:

Television viewers

Television and globalization

Popular culture

Mass media and music

Mass media and culture

Television and music

Television and popular music

American Idol (Television program)


Web Accessibility Assistance