Skip to main content

Reality Music TV in the Age of Global Culture: Music Resources

A guide to library resources and services for Anaar Desai-Stephens' class, Reality Music TV in the Age of Global Culture (Music 1701, Fall 2014 and Spring 2015). Prepared by Tracey Snyder and Fred Muratori.

Music Library Website and Guide

Music Databases and Indexes

Accessing Articles at Cornell

The Articles & Full Text feature on the main Library web page allows you to perform simple searches across multiple databases. Because the various databases are structured differently, search results may vary widely. However, it's great for accessing articles that you have seen cited in a bibliography. Enter a few keywords from the title of the article and the author's last name.



Finding Books in the Library Catalog

The Cornell Library Catalog includes the holdings of all Ithaca campus libraries, in addition to those of the Geneva Experiment Station. The catalog contains records for books, computer files, government documents, manuscripts and archives,maps, musical scores, periodicals, serials, sound recordings, and visual materials.

To search only the Library Catalog, click on the catalog link as indicated by the yellow arrow.


The "All Fields" search will retrieve matches for your search terms wherever they appear in the description of an item, but you may use the pulldown menu to the right of the search box to limit to title, author, subject, publisher, or call number.


The Cornell University Library uses Library of Congress Subject Headings as the standard for searching by subject and for narrowing down results by subject. Browse the options in the Subject facets to retrieve items with a particular subject heading.



When looking at the description of an item, you can click on any of the subject terms to retrieve other items with that same subject:



Here are a few music-related subject headings that could be useful for this class:


Music--Social aspects

Music and globalization

Mass media and music

Dissemination of music

Nationalism in music

Music and transnationalism

Music and race

Popular music--Competitions

Talent shows

Popular culture

Television and music

Television and popular music

American Idol (Television program)

Search Tip

Start with Oxford Music Online, which contains several music reference sources, to get an overview of a topic. Consult relevant articles (e.g., American Idol) and their bibliographies. For topics in world music, Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online is also a good place to start.

Keep in mind, though, that reference sources like this are not continuously updated. Search literature indexes like RILM and Music Index Online (separately or simultaneously) for more recent books, book chapters, articles, and dissertations.

Search the Library Catalog (for books) and Articles & Full Text (for articles) to locate specific items cited in bibliographies, and to see what else may be available. 

*** (If you are looking for a chapter from a book, search the title of the book rather than the title of the chapter. If you are looking for a journal article, search the title of the article, rather than the title of the journal.