Skip to main content

PHIL 1112: Persons - Human, Divine and Other: Find
Articles

Useful Tips

Databases identify and locate articles published in magazines, journals and newspapers. Many databases also index essays, book chapters and monographs.

Tip 1: Some of the databases provide full-text coverage of journals.

Tip 2: If the database does not provide full-text, use Get it! Cornell or search the library catalog for the journal title (or book title). This will provide you with Cornell's holdings of the journal (in both print and electronic form).

Tip 3: For more precise access to which journals/years that we own, search journal titles (not article titles!) individually in the Classic Catalog (use the Journal Title Search in Basic Search).

Recommended Databases for Finding Articles

Philosopher's Index
Indexes and abstracts articles in philosophy journals and journal articles from related interdisciplinary fields that have been published in the U.S. and Europe. Coverage is from 1940 to the present for U.S. materials, and 1967 to the present for non-U.S. references.The primary database for philosophy.

General Article Databases:

Search: Articles
Searches for articles across more than 800 million items. Click on the "Articles & Full Text" link on the Cornell Library home page, enter your search terms, then click Go.

ProQuest Research Library
Multidisciplinary database, a great starting point for research on all topics. Nearly 5,000 journals and magazines. Good source of criticism written about film and literature.

Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)
Similar to ProQuest Research Library, Academic Search Premier provides 8,500 full-text journals and magazines, a slightly different mix of sources to search, and a different search interface than Research Library.

Searchable Full-Text Journal Collections:

JSTOR
Full-text of scholarly journals, excluding articles from the last 2 to 5 years.

Project Muse
Contains full text of journals in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics. Covers such fields as literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and others.

How to Identify Scholarly Journal Articles

Evaluating the sources you find is a crucial step in the process of scholarly research. The questions you ask about books, periodical articles, or multimedia sources are similar whether you're looking at a citation to the item or have the item in hand.

Watch this video to learn how to identify scholarly journal articles.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uDGJ2CYfY9A