Skip to main content

PHIL 1112: Persons - Human, Divine and Other: Reference
Sources

Olin Reference Collection

Olin Library Reference Collection

Encyclopedias & dictionaries are great for:

  • choosing a topic
  • educating yourself quickly
  • perspective on a topic
  • variant spellings, vocabulary, terminology
  • bibliography

Philosophy Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy Online.
(online; print version: Olin Reference B 51 .R68 1998)
Find articles on philosophers and philosophical topics. Strong coverage in ethics. Online version regularly updated.

Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy.
(online only)
Readable, frquently-updated articles.

Encyclopedia of Philosophy. 2nd ed. 2006.
(online; print version: Olin Reference B 51 .E56 2006 +)
An updated version of the orginal, classic 1967 edition.

The Oxford Companion to Philosophy.
(online; print version: Olin Reference B 51 .094 2005)
Interesting, brief ruminations on philosophical topics. See, for instance, the entry on ethics and morality.

The Oxford Dictionary of Philosophy.
(online; print version: Olin Reference B 41 .B53 2005)
Definitions for frequently used philosophical terms.

 

 

Finding Other Reference Databases

Browseable links and descriptions for major reference databases are available in Database Names. Go to the Cornell Library's home page. Click on Database Names then on Browse by Subject or Name then on Dictionaries and Encyclopedias. Or just click on these links.

Web Accessibility Assistance