Skip to main content

PHIL 1111.101 Philosophical Problems: Between Theory & Reality—Philosophy of Science: Reference
Sources

Olin Reference Collection

Olin Library Reference Collection

Encyclopedias & dictionaries are great for:

  • choosing a topic
  • educating yourself quickly
  • perspective on a topic
  • variant spellings, vocabulary, terminology
  • bibliography

Philosophy Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

 

The Philosophy of Science: An Encyclopedia.
(online; print version: Olin Reference Q 174.7 .P45 2006)
Find articles on all aspects of the philosophy of science including biographical articles on philosophers of science.

Encyclopedia of philosophy and the social sciences.
(online)
It is not only about the philosophy of the social sciences but, going beyond that, it is also about the relationship between philosophy and the social sciences (publisher).

Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy Online.
(online; print version: Olin Reference B 51 .R68 1998)
Find articles on philosophers and philosophical topics. Strong coverage in ethics. Online version regularly updated.

Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy.
(online only)
Readable, frquently-updated articles.

Encyclopedia of Philosophy. 2nd ed. 2006.
(online; print version: Olin Reference B 51 .E56 2006 +)
An updated version of the orginal, classic 1967 edition.

Encyclopedia of Environmental Ethics and Philosophy. 2nd ed. 2006.
(online; print version: Mann Library GE42 .E53 2009)
Articles address all aspects of environmenal ethics.

The International Encyclopedia of Ethics 2013
This 9-volume set comprises over 700 entries, written by an international cast of subject experts.

Encyclopedia of Ethics. 2nd ed. 2001.
(Olin Reference BJ 63 .E45x 2001 +)
A three volume set on all aspects for ethics and related topics.

The Oxford Companion to Philosophy.
(online; print version: Olin Reference B 51 .094 2005)
Interesting, brief ruminations on philosophical topics. See, for instance, the entry on ethics and morality.

The Oxford Dictionary of Philosophy.
(online; print version: Olin Reference B 41 .B53 2005)
Definitions for frequently used philosophical terms.

 

 

Finding Other Reference Databases

Browseable links and descriptions for major reference databases are available in Database Names. Go to the Cornell Library's home page. Click on Database Names then on Browse by Subject or Name then on Dictionaries and Encyclopedias. Or just click on these links.