Islamic Studies Databases
In order of usefulness for Islamic Studies Research (note that other basic reference works are listed after the first section below)
Islamic Law Online Database Islamic Law Online is an online bibliographic database of materials relating to Islamic legal studies. This database was established by the Centre for Islamic Law and Society to compliment the Asian Law Centre's Asian Law Online. Offered to the public as a free service to assist students, scholars and practitioners of Islamic legal studies, Islamic Law Online is a collection of English language materials on Islam available throughout the world. It includes books, chapters in books, journal articles and theses.
Click here to access the Islamic Law Online database.
- Encyclopaedia of Islam, Second Edition
- Encyclopaedia of Islam Online (EI Online) sets out the present state of knowledge of the Islamic World and is a unique reference tool, an essential key to understanding the world of Islam. It includes biographical articles on distinguished Muslims of every age and land, on tribes and dynasties, on the crafts and sciences, on political and religious institutions, on the geography, ethnography, flora and fauna of the various countries and on the history, topography and monuments of the major towns and cities. In its geographical and historical scope it encompasses the old Arabo-Islamic empire, the Islamic countries of Iran, Central Asia, the Indian sub-continent and Indonesia, the Ottoman Empire and all other Islamic countries.
- The Encyclopaedia of Islam Three
- 2007-<2014> The new edition (1960–2005) offered vastly expanded coverage (more than 11,000 pages, in twelve volumes), and in the long course of its appearance increasingly reflected new trends in scholarship on Islam and Muslim societies, in terms of both method and content
- Index Islamicus
- Index Islamicus is an international bibliography of publications in European languages covering all aspects of Islam and the Muslim world, including history, beliefs, societies, cultures, languages, and literature. The database includes material published by Western orientalists, social scientists and Muslims.
- Oxford Bibliographies Online: Islamic Studies
- Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on the range of lived experiences and textual traditions of Muslims as they are articulated in various countries and regions throughout the world. Bibliographies are browseable by subject area and keyword searchable. Contains a "My OBO" function that allows users to create personalized bibliographies of individual citations from different bibliographies. [In Persian, Arabic, Urdu, English, Turkish English, Arabic, Persian, Turkish, and Urdu.]
- Encyclopaedia Islamica
- Encyclopaedia Islamica Online is based on the abridged and edited translation of the Persian Dāʾirat al-Maʿārif-i Buzurg-i Islāmī, one of the most comprehensive sources on Islam and the Muslim world. A unique feature of the Encyclopaedia Islamica Online lies in the attention given to Shiʿi Islam and its rich and diverse heritage. In addition to providing entries on important themes, subjects and personages in Islam generally, Encyclopaedia Islamica Online offers the Western reader an opportunity to appreciate the various dimensions of Shiʿi Islam, the Persian contribution to Islamic civilization, and the spiritual dimensions of the Islamic tradition.
- Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World
- Online & [print]Olin Library Reference (Non-Circulating) Oversize BP40 .E525x 2004 +
- Looks at Islam's role in the modern world, doing so in context of the religion's history and development over the last 13 centuries. Contains thematic articles, biographies of key figures, definitions, illustrations, maps and more.
- Encyclopædia of the Qur'ān Online
- Online & [Print] Olin Library Reference (Non-Circulating) Oversize BP133 .E53 2001-2006 +
- EQ is an encyclopaedic dictionary of qur’ānic terms, concepts, personalities, place names, cultural history and exegesis extended with essays on the most important themes and subjects within qur’ānic studies. Encyclopaedia of the Qur’ān (EQ) is the first comprehensive, multivolume reference work on the Qur’ān to appear in a Western language. The EQ Online includes access to 62 Early Printed Western Qur’āns Online. With regular updates. Drawing upon a rich scholarly heritage, EQ combines alphabetically-arranged articles about the contents of the Qur’ān. With nearly 1000 entries the EQ is the first comprehensive reference work on the Qur’ān to appear in a Western language.
- Oxford Islamic Studies Online
- Oxford Islamic Studies Online is a comprehensive reference center with a global perspective and is a source of timely, reliable, and accessible information on the history, peoples, beliefs, individuals, and cultures that constitute the world of Islam. The site includes two essential English-language interpretations of the Qur'an, the first electronic version of the standard Concordance used by English-speaking scholars around the world, and primary source documents. Special features and tools include timelines, Qur'an Verse Look-up, a Date Converter for Western and Islamic calendar dates, and more.
- Encyclopedia of Women and Islamic Cultures
- Online & [Print] Olin Library Reference (Non-Circulating) Oversize HQ1170 .E53 2003 +
- The Encyclopedia of Women and Islamic Cultures Online is an interdisciplinary, trans-historical, and global project embracing women and Islamic cultures in every region where there have been significant Muslim populations. It aims to cover every topic for which there is significant research, examining these regions from the period just before the rise of Islam to the present. The Encyclopedia of Women and Islamic Cultures Online crosses history, geographic borders and disciplines to create a groundbreaking reference work reflecting the very latest research on gender studies and the Islamic world.
v. 1. Methodologies, paradigms and sources for studying women and Islamic cultures
v. 2. Family, law, and politics
v. 3. Family, body, sexuality, and health
v. 4. Economics, education, mobility, and space.
Historical Atlas of Islam Online && [Print] Olin Library Reference (Non-Circulating) Oversize+ G1786.S1 R9 2004 [Orig.: An historical atlas of Islam = atlas historique de l'Islam / edited by sous la direction de Hugh Kennedy].
From linguistic regions of the Islamic world to Iran under the Caliphate and the Greater Delhi Sultanate, a broad variety of topics is covered. New maps include: Yemen and the Hadramaut, Central Arabia and the Wahhabi expansion, Iran in the era of the Il-Khans and Timurids, environmental regions of the Muslim world, the fertile crescent in early Ottoman times, the Caucasus in early Islamic times, the Maghrib in the age of Almoravids and Almohads and many other regional groups. A wide variety of new city maps has been added including Sanaa, Damascus, Aleppo, Mosul, Baghdad, Cairo, Isfahan, Shiraz, Bukhara, Samarkand, Cordoba, Granada and Delhi.
Conflict and conquest in the Islamic world : a historical encyclopedia, / Alexander Mikaberidze. Santa Barbara, Calif. : ABC-CLIO, c.
A Historical Encyclopedia provides hundreds of entries on wars, revolutions, sieges, institutions, leaders, armies, weapons, and other aspects of wars and military life, enabling readers to understand the complex role conflict has played in Islamic life throughout history and see how Islamic warfare has evolved over the centuries. This reference work covers not only the traditional Middle Eastern regions and countries but also provides relevant historical information regarding Islam in North Africa, Central Asia, Southeastern Asia, and Oceania.