New
Christian-Muslim Relations by ISBN: 9789047443681Publication Date: 2009-01-01Christian-Muslim Relations, a Bibliographical History 1 (CMR1) is a history of all the known works on Christian-Muslim relations from 600 to 1500. It comprises introductory essays and over 200 detailed entries containing descriptions, assessments and compehensive bibliographical details of individual works.
Biographical Sources
Brockelmann in English: The History of the Arabic Written Tradition Online : This online publication is the English translation of Brockelmann's famous Geschichte der Arabischen Litteratur (GAL). Brockelmann's work offers bio-bibliographic information about works written in Arabic and their authors, with an emphasis on the classical period. It is divided in chronologically organized sections, which are subdivided by literary genre. Individual entries typically consist of a biographical section and a list of the author’s works in manuscript and print, with references to secondary literature. Unlike the German original, the English translation spells out all the authors' names, which makes the translation much easier to consult. Minor errors in converted dates have also been corrected. The “Brockelmann” is an indispensable research tool for anyone working on the Islamic world and the Middle East.
Who's who in Turkish Culture and Art is a database provided by the Turkish Cultural Foundation. "Artists and experts are included in this database based on a variety of criteria and are gathered from different sources through a TCF managed search process. The final selection is made by the selection committee. This online resource is constantly updated, and includes brief biographies and contact information for each individual, along with selected images of their art." The database also includes a section on Turkish academics.
Historians of the Ottoman Empire " intends to comprise all the historians who have lived and produced within the geographical limits of the Ottoman Empire -- regardless of the language." The Historians of the Ottoman Empire is intended to be a major reference work for scholars and students of the Middle East, North Africa, South-East Europe, and the Caucasus, as well as for non-specialists interested in the histories and cultures of these regions.
Biographical Encyclopedia of the Modern Middle East and North Africa by Call Number: Olin Reference CT1866 .B56 2008+ISBN: 9781414418896Publication Date: 2007-10-12Current biographies of more than 300 prominent contemporary individuals (including from Afghanistan). Michael R. Fischbach, ed. 2 vols.- Biographical Dictionary of the Middle East byCall Number: Uris Library Reference DS62.4 .S55 1991"Includes about 500 20th-century figures, living and deceased, of political significance, with author's assessment of their importance and some portraits." (Guide to Reference)
Political Leaders of the Contemporary Middle East and North Africa by Call Number: Olin Library Reference DS61.5 .P76ISBN: 0313262136Publication Date: 1990-02-21Profiles of over 70 leaders who have made political contributions since WWII.
Jerusalem the biography by ISBN: 9780307266514Publication Date: 2011-10-25Jerusalem is the universal city, the capital of two peoples, the shrine of three faiths; it is the prize of empires, the site of Judgement Day and the battlefield of today's clash of civilizations. From King David to Barack Obama, from the birth of Judaism, Christianity and Islam to the Israel-Palestine conflict, this is the epic history of three thousand years of faith, slaughter, fanaticism and coexistence. How did this small, remote town become the Holy City, the "center of the world" and now the key to peace in the Middle East? In a gripping narrative, Simon Sebag Montefiore reveals this ever-changing city in its many incarnations, bringing every epoch and character blazingly to life. Jerusalem's biography is told through the wars, love affairs and revelations of the men and women--kings, empresses, prophets, poets, saints, conquerors and whores--who created, destroyed, chronicled and believed in Jerusalem. As well as the many ordinary Jerusalemites who have left their mark on the city, its cast varies from Solomon, Saladin and Suleiman the Magnificent to Cleopatra, Caligula and Churchill; from Abraham to Jesus and Muhammad; from the ancient world of Jezebel, Nebuchadnezzar, Herod and Nero to the modern times of the Kaiser, Disraeli, Mark Twain, Lincoln, Rasputin, Lawrence of Arabia and Moshe Dayan. Drawing on new archives, current scholarship, his own family papers and a lifetime's study, Montefiore illuminates the essence of sanctity and mysticism, identity and empire in a unique chronicle of the city that many believe will be the setting for the Apocalypse. This is how Jerusalem became Jerusalem, and the only city that exists twice--in heaven and on earth.
Key Islamic Political Thinkers by
Islam has become a potent political force around the world since it reemerged in the late 1960's and 1970's as a religio-political alternative to failed nationalist ideologies. In countries throughout the world, individuals and movements have attempted to reconstruct the political, economic,and social dimensions of their societies along Islamic lines, taking different approaches to the shari`a and to the questions of whether and how to establish an Islamic state. Key Islamic Political Thinkers offers an examination of some of the leading intellectuals behind the resurgence of political Islam. The essays in this volume cover a selection of thinkers that is representative of the main strands of contemporary Muslim political thought. It starts with theforefathers of contemporary political Islam, Hasan al-Banna and Abu al A`la al-Mawdudi, analyzes the revolutionary ideas of Sayyid Qutb, Ali Shari`ati, and Ayatollah Khomeini, and ends with the "intellectuals" of political Islam, Hassan al-Turabi, Rashid al-Ghannoushi, Yusuf al-Qaradawi, MuhammadKhatami, and Abdolkarim Soroush, who exemplify the diversity and complexity of contemporary Muslim political discourse. This volume provides a valuable guide to the most important intellectual architects of the Islamic revival.
Call Number: olin JA84.I78 K49 2018ISBN: 9780190900342Publication Date: 2018-09-10
Biographical Dictionary of Modern Egypt by Call Number: Olin Library DT97 .G65x 1999 +ISBN: 1555872298Publication Date: 2000-02-01"Covers 400 persons from the late 18th century to the present. Excludes the Sudan and Egyptians living overseas but includes some French and British in Egypt. Articles have excellent references in English, French, and Arabic. Substantial terminal bibliography and subject index." (Guide to Reference)
Arab-Islamic Biographical Index / Arabischer-Islamischer Biographischer Index by ISBN: 9783598339073Publication Date: 2008-01-01The biographical indexes, part of the World Biographical Information System (WBIS) and used as indexes for the biographical archives, serve as an independent biographical research tool, with each index containing short biographical entries on individuals relating to a certain biographical or cultural region, and each entry including names, biographical data, professions and evaluated sources. The Arab-Islamic Biographical Index contains summarised information on around 80,000 individuals from the pre-Islamic period until 1918. It includes not only individuals who were born in the region, but also foreigners who were active within it.
Concise Biographical Companion to Index Islamicus by ISBN: 9004141170Publication Date: 2004-06-29- Who's Who in the Arab WorldCall Number: Olin Reference D198.3 .W62 (latest volume in Reference)
- Who's Who in LebanonCall Number: Olin Reference DS80.75 W62 (latest volume in Reference)
- Who’s Who in Israel and Jewish personalities from all over the worldCall Number: Olin Reference DS125.3.A2 W62
- Concise biographical companion to Index Islamicus : an international who’s who in Islamic studies from its beginnings down to the twentieth century : bio-bibliographical supplement to Index Islamicus, 1665-1980 byCall Number: Olin Reference BP70 .B425 2004
"Who is She in Egypt" is a database of distinguished Egyptian women experts. It provides Arabic and English profiles on outstanding Egyptian Women in their particular field. The database aims at raising awareness among the society that there are expert and competent Egyptian Women in all fields of life. It is designed to be a reference to organizations, researchers, activists, media practitioners and all the users who want to find an Egyptian woman expert in a particular field..."
"The Who Is She in Lebanon is an online database with profiles of prominent contemporary Lebanese women. This project started in 2008 following a bilateral partnership between the Institute for Women’s Studies in the Arab World (IWSAW) at the Lebanese American University (LAU) and KVINFO, the Danish Centre for Information on Women and Gender, a grant-maintained self-governing institution under the jurisdiction of the Ministry of Culture in Denmark... "
Who's who in Turkish Culture and Art is a database provided by the Turkish Cultural Foundation. "Artists and experts are included in this database based on a variety of criteria and are gathered from different sources through a TCF managed search process. The final selection is made by the selection committee. This online resource is constantly updated, and includes brief biographies and contact information for each individual, along with selected images of their art." The database also includes a section on Turkish academics.