Skip to main content

HIST 2220: From the New Deal to the Reagan Revolution (Spring 2017): Articles

A guide to library research

How to find articles

The Steps

  1. Find a database by browsing the list here or under Database Names subjects
  2. Click on the link to get into the database
  3. Search the database for articles

How to locate an article

Not all articles are available online!

 
If an article isn't available full text through a database...

  • Use "Get it! Cornell" link/button (an app that will appear inside databases) to track down the article. Sometimes an article exists only in print, not online.
  • If you get stuck or lost or have any problems, Ask a Librarian!

What is Passkey?

Passkey is a bookmarklet (Firefox and IE) that lets you quickly authenticate as a CU person, when you're off-campus. This allows you to access databases.

In firefox, drag the icon to your bookmarks toolbar or right click and bookmark this location. Control-click (mac users)

In Internet Explorer, right-click the icon, add to favorites

The next time you're off-campus and a publisher asks you to log-in, click the Passkey.  You'll be prompted for your CU netid, and that's it! 

Details are at CUL Labs (Cool Tools)

Essentials

Top Picks (far more powerful than Google or Google Scholar)

America History and Life  Articles, books, dissertations on United States and Canadian history from pre-history to the 21st century.

EBSCOHost Multidisciplinary and multi-genre--scholarly journals, scholarly journals, magazines, reports, newspapers. Lots of full text.

 

Also useful

JSTOR  Excludes 3-5 years most recent articles! ALL JSTOR journals included in America History and Life.

Project Muse  Companion to JSTOR with 3-5 most recent years. 

Chicano database
A wide range of materials focused on the Mexican-American and Chicano experience, as well as the broader Latino experience of Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans and Central American immigrants.

GenderWatch
Publications that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas, uniquely central to women's lives, including family, childbrith, birth control, daycare, domestic abuse, work and the workplace, sexual harassment, aging, aging parents, body image, eating disorders and social and societal roles.

Studies on women and gender abstracts online Indexes books and journal articles on education, employment, women in the family, medicine and health, gender role socialization, social policy, the social psychology of women, female culture, media treatment of women, biography, literary criticism and historical studies.

Alt-PressWatch
Full text of selected newspapers, magazines, and journals of the alternative and independent press. Contemporary society, including coverage of the peace movement, ecology and the environment, labor, indigenous peoples, public policy, and grassroots organizing. This coverage of diverse points of view and perspectives complements the reporting in the mainstream press.

Ethnic NewsWatch
Full-text collection of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press from 1960.

SocINDEX with Full Text
Sociology articles, many full text, and other materials encompassing abortion, criminology & criminal justice, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse & other addictions, violence and many others.

LGBT Life with Full Text
Worldwide literature on gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender issues, which includes full text for more than 50 journals, magazines and regional newspapers and dozens of monographs.

Black Studies Center Includes scholarly essays, recent periodicals, historical newspaper articles, and much more, many full text online.

Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
Indexes articles and more on the history of architecture and design, archaeology, city planning, interior design, and historic preservation from the 1930s (with selective coverage dating back to the 1860s) to the present.

Race Relations Abstracts
Race relations, including ethnic studies, discrimination, immigration studies, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.

PAIS International
Contains citations to international public policy literature of economics, government, law, international business, political science, public administration, and other social sciences. It includes references to journal articles, books, government documents, reports and pamphlets.