Skip to main content

WRIT 1370: Introduction to Writing in the University (Fall 2016): Finding Media
Articles--General

Research for Kelly King-O'Brien's writing seminars. Click on the BLUE TABS below to access each section of this guide.

News Resources

The News Databases Online web page brings together links to online news sources or provide searchable access to multiple news providers. In most cases, they provide immediate access to the full text of the news sources. In some cases, they link to or index the full-text sources maintained by individual newspapers, news publishers, and news sources, including television and radio.

Each entry contains the following information: database title; database URL; whether the library has a subscription (available to Cornell users only); and a brief description including the time period covered, the format of the content, and languages (no entry = English).

News Sources Online:

Access World News.
[http://resolver.library.cornell.edu/misc/5656506]; subscription.
Coverage: Current, from roughly the mid-1980s on. Over 2,700 newspapers and newswires, including some web-only titles. Also video from local television news programs. Some international coverage, but mainly Anglo-American titles. Includes many smaller newspapers in the U.S. Plain text and video. English and Spanish (Acceda Noticias).

Factiva.
[http://resolver.library.cornell.edu/misc/4394263]; subscription.
Coverage: Current. Back to 1980s for some titles. Primarily business news. Plain text. English. The Newsstand section shows articles from eight major news sources (New York Times, Wall Street Journal, etc.) for the last two weeks.

LexisNexis Academic.
[http://resolver.library.cornell.edu/misc/3126641]; subscription.
Use Search the News--Advanced Search. Coverage: Roughly 1980 to date. Plain text, no graphics; transcripts only of audio and video. Numerous languages--mostly English and Western European.

Library PressDisplay. ProQuest.
[http://resolver.library.cornell.edu/misc/6279917]; subscription.
Full-color PDFs. Coverage: current 90 days. Many languages.

ProQuest Historical Newspapers.
[http://resolver.library.cornell.edu/misc/5071678]; subscription.
The following 16 newspapers are searchable individually or as a group. The default is cross-searching all titles.
The New York Times (1851-2013), Wall Street Journal (1889-1999), the Washington Post (1877-1999). The Baltimore Sun (1837-1991), the Boston Globe (1872-1984), the Chicago Tribune (1849-1992), the Hartford Courant (1764-1990), the Los Angeles Times (1881-1992), and the New York Tribune / Herald Tribune (1841-1962).
International: Chinese Newspapers Collection (1832-1953), the Globe and Mail [Toronto] (1844-2012), the Irish Times / Weekly Irish Times [Dublin] (1859-2015), and the Times of India (1838-2003).
African-American newspapers: the Chicago Defender (1910-1975), New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993), and Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002).
PDFs scanned from microfilm. English. Advertising content is searchable.

 

Full version of the News Collections Online web page.

Reference Help

Michael Engle's picture
Michael Engle
106 Olin Library
moe1@cornell.edu
Cornell University Library

Selector for
Reference
Anglo-American News

VIVO