Skip to main content

WRIT 1370: Introduction to Writing in the University (Fall 2016): Finding
Articles

Research for Kelly King-O'Brien's writing seminars. Click on the BLUE TABS below to access each section of this guide.

Finding Articles

Use these online databases to find articles in journals and online books. Use our online catalog to look up books and the journal titles you find by searching periodical databases. Our catalog lists both the print and electronic versions of journal titles (when available).

 

Use these databases to search broadly across disciplines and source types:

Academic Search Premier. EBSCO.
A general periodical database that provides citations and abstracts for articles from over 4,100 journals and includes full text from over 3,170 journals. You can limit your search to peer-reviewed articles (scholarly articles).

ProQuest Research Library.
Searches thousands of general interest magazines and scholarly journals covering a wide variety of subjects and academic disciplines. It also includes citations and abstracts to selected newspapers, television and radio programs. We subscribe to most of the periodicals indexed. Many articles are available full-text from the article citation page. You can limit your search to peer-reviewed articles (scholarly articles).

Articles & Full Text [aka Summon].
A new way to find online articles and online books. This powerful search engine works across many databases and pulls together a wide variety of resources. Refine your search using the categories on the left of the results page.

 

These databases search scholarly sources across disciplines:

Google Scholar.
A searchable database of scholarly literature across all disciplines--articles, books, and papers--with links to the full text in many cases.

JSTOR.
A large collection of searchable and browseable full-text scholarly journals. Covers from the beginning of the journal (earliest is 1665) up to within two to five years of the present [the "moving wall"]. List of journals included and years covered.

 

Use the databases in the Current Topics research guide to find information on current issues:

Current Topics: Selected Information Sources links to sources of opinions, perspectives, and summaries of current issues and contemporary topics.

Reference Help

Michael Engle's picture
Michael Engle
106 Olin Library
moe1@cornell.edu
Cornell University Library

Selector for
Reference
Anglo-American News

VIVO

Web Accessibility Assistance