Skip to main content

PAM 3800: Human Sexuality: Evaluate the Sources
You Find

A step-by-step guide to finding the needed resources for PAM 3800.

Evaluating the Sources You Find

As you review the scholarly sources that you will use, it is important that you carefully evaluate the content, intent, and audience of the article. How does it support or refute the thesis of your paper?

Evaluating a source begins even before you have the source in hand. Initially appraise a source by first examining the bibliographic citation. A bibliographic citation is a written description of a book, journal article, essay, or some other published material. Bibliographic citations characteristically have three main components: author, title, and publication information. These components can help you determine the usefulness of this source for your paper.

If the citation is enriched with an abstract, that provides further useful information about the source. Remember, though, that abstracts are descriptive, not evaluative. You must do the critical evaluation.

For more information on evaluating your sources, see Critically Analyzing Information Sources.

Search for articles

Search a number of databases at one time using Summon, or go into individual databases for your searches.

Summon / Search for Articles

Summon (Articles & Full Text) searches articles, ebooks, audio files, and video files. It does not search the library catalog (print books and other physical items).

Use the Library Catalog for print books. Also, Summon doesn't search all library resources. Use subject-specific databases (link to the right of Articles & Full Text) for comprehensive or focused searching.