The North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) is the standard used by Federal statistical agencies in classifying business establishments for the purpose of collecting, analyzing, and publishing statistical data related to the U.S. business economy.
By finding the NAICS code for your industry, you can easily search for the industry in library databases as well as online.
The scholarly business database offers a collection of bibliographic and full text content in all disciplines of business. This is a great database to get a company SWOT analysis and information from trade publications in addition to market reports, peer-reviewed journal articles, and industry profiles.
This database offers real-time information about venture capital and angel investor-backed start-up companies.You can also find a detailed list of your competitors. If you are looking for a profitable idea, this database can also give you a snapshot of what industries are considered "hot" for investment. Please note, you are limited to 6,000 downloads per year.
Provides in-depth market research and strategy reports with European and global coverage of emerging technologies in the areas of Aerospace & Defense; Automotive & Transportation; Chemicals, Materials, and Food; Electronics & Security; Energy & Power Supplies; Environment & Building Technologies; Healthcare; Industrial Automation & Process Control; Information & Communication Technologies; Measurement & Instrumentation.
IBISWorld provides industry research reports and profiles for more than 700 United States industries as well as a wide range of industries in China and Canada. Reports include industry performance, outlook, major companies, supply chain, demand drivers, cost structure, barriers to entry, and key statistics.
Provides access to financial data on public companies, as well as merger and acquisition information and industry and market data. Our best library resource for analyst reports. Users can search and screen across databases to identify companies that meet your specific investment criteria as well as conduct peer analysis. This product only works in internet explorer.
Keep track of what is being written about your indusry, competitors, trends and opportunities. Media coverage can be a great source of most recent information for even the smallest or niche industries.
Full-text online service for national and international news and business information. Covers over 28,000 sources in 23 languages in more than 150 countries. Some company and market research is included. Factiva includes full-text coverage of the Wall Street Journal.
provide this type of data for many industries. These publications can be found electronically through Business & Company Resource Center or in print (HF5410 M34 and HF5410 W92, respectively, in Ready Reference).