Skip to main content

BME 4110: Science & Technology Approaches to Problems in Human Health (Fall 2015): Top Databases

Recommended information resources for biomedical engineers.

Top Databases

Top recommended databases for articles, materials data, standards, patents, and books. For more, go to Databases A-Z or Databases by Discipline on the Engineering Library homepage.

Guide to medical resources by medical college librarians

The Engineering Library links to many top databases, including Database A-Z List, plus services, such as document delivery, books requests, and group study room reservations.

VIVO is a Cornell expertise database, find collaborators.

PubMed is the premier database for medical literature. Publisher is National Library of Medicine. Better than Google Scholar at displaying more references per page, more vocabulary, with abstracts/full-text.

Cornell Library Catalog has records for 8 million books, and thousands of journals and articles. Lacks detailed indexing of PubMed, INSPEC, Compendex, and Web of Science.
Web of Science searches major science journals across disciplines.Tracks the number of times articles and authors are cited by others. Includes Science Citation Index (1900 - present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index, Journal citations reports, Essential Science Indicators, and Derwent Innovations (patents) databases. 

 Search scholarly articles and conference papers in Compendex and INSPEC simultaneously.
 There are several JOVE journals with scientific online video journal articles. JOVE (Journal of Visualized Experiments) help researchers with the labor intensive nature of learning new experimental techniques. Sections include Engineering, Bioengineering, Clinical & translational medicine, Neuroscience...

EBooks and More Below

CRC EngNetBase (also MaterialsNetBase, ChemicalEngineeringNetBase, NanoNetBase, ChemNetBase) 2,000 books by CRC and Taylor & Francis, including Dekker's Encyclopedia of Nanoscience and Nanotechnology.
 2,000 technical e-books on many subjects. ASM Handbooks and other societies handbooks may be searched here.

Access Engineering has hundreds of McGraw-Hill books and instructional videos, Includes Perry's Chemical Engineers' Handbook, Biofuels Engineering Process Technology, and Schaum's Outlines
 12,000 standards by the American Society for Testing of Materials. There are 95,000 standards published by many organizations, such as ISO that we order individually as needed.
 Available through Thomson Reuter's Web of Science, Derwent includes value-added patent title descriptions and citation information to world and US patents from 1963 to date.
Proquest Digital Dissertations contain abstracts and sometimes full-text PDFs to most North American theses. This site limits to Cornell and Weill Medical College only.
IEEE Xplore is a full text database to all IEEE journals, transactions, and conferences.

Engineering Librarian

Jill Powell
103A Carpenter Hall
Engineering Library
Cornell University
Ithaca, NY 14853