This is the "Home" page of the "Bibliography of the History of Art" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Bibliography of the History of Art   Tags: art  

About the Bibliography of the History of Art citation index & other options
Last Updated: Jan 24, 2012 URL: http://guides.library.cornell.edu/bha Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail AlertsShareThis

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Art Librarian

Profile Image
Susette Newberry
The librarian on duty can help!
Contact Info
106 Olin Library
Cornell University
Ithaca, NY 14853
(607) 255-3927
Send Email
View my VIVO profile here:
vivo
 

The BHA

News Release, April 1, 2010:THE GETTY PROVIDES FREE ACCESS TO THE BHA ON ITS WEBSITE

As of April 1, 2010, the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) is available free of charge on the Getty Web site at http://library.getty.edu/bha.

BHA on the Getty Web site offers both basic and advanced search modules, and can be searched easily by subject, artist, author, article or journal title, and other elements. To search BHA, please visit, http://library.getty.edu/bha. Note that the database search includes both BHA (covering 1990-2007), the International Bibliography of Art (IBA), covering the years 2008 and part of 2009, and the Répertoire de la litterature de l’art (RILA), one of the predecessors of BHA, with records that cover 1975-1989.

Try out the IBA

The International Bibliography of Art is licensed by ProQuest as the successor to the Bibliography of the History of Art, and available on the Cornell campus and off campus, to members of the Cornell community.

IBA: the Successor

ProQuest image. Click to launch trial access, if you are a Cornell researcher.

The IBA is the "definitive resource for scholarly literature on Western art. IBA is the successor to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA), and retains the editorial policies which made BHA one of the most trusted and frequently consulted sources in the field. The database includes records created by the Getty Research Institute in 2008-09, with new records created by ProQuest using the same thesaurus and authority files.

The database will grow by 25,000 records per year, ensuring unbroken coverage of journals that were indexed in BHA and IBA prior to 2010. The initial data set created by the Getty Research Institute in 2008-2009 covers scholarship up to 2009, including retrospective records for material published in previous years, and in some cases the new ProQuest indexing will also cover retrospective years in order to fill gaps in coverage.

Publications covered include at least 500 core journals, with an emphasis on specialist and rare titles that are not covered by other indexes, plus detailed coverage of monographs, essay collections, conference proceedings and exhibition catalogues. We aim for at least 60% of the content to be in languages other than English (primarily German, French, Italian and Spanish), with a proportion of this indexing provided by national art libraries and freelance indexers from around the world. This editorial policy will ensure an authoritative overview of international scholarship within the broad and interdisciplinary parameters outlined below."

Subject coverage

  • European art since late antiquity
  • American art since the colonial period
  • Global art since 1945
  • Fine art in all media
  • Decorative arts and antiques
  • Museum studies and conservation
  • Archaeology and material culture
  • Folk art
  • Architectural history
  • IBA: the International Bibliography of Art  
      
      
    Rating
    International Bibliography of Art now benefits from ProQuest’s acclaimed editorial operations, with its emphasis on subject expertise and manual indexing. The database includes detailed abstracts for all new content, in-depth abstracts for scholarly articles, and authority files of controlled terms. Together, these provide detailed, high quality records to direct researchers to most important information in the field.
  • College Art Association News Release  
      
    ProQuest Takes over the Bibliography of the History of Art from the Getty Research Institute

Further information

The College Art Association, together with the Art Libraries Society of North America, have organized several formal discussions about the future of art bibliography, following the significant changes to the Bibliography of the History of Art as outlined above.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip