Skip to main content

Beta Real Estate Industry: Home

This guide provides information about print and electronic library resources for Real Estate Industry research.

Home

Need More Help?

The Nestlé Library provides research assistance to all members of the School of Hotel Administration. Stop by the library, email the reference team, or call us at 255-3673.

We also offer personal consultations (individual or group) for more in-depth research assistance.

 

Welcome

 Welcome

 

This guide was prepared by the staff of Nestlé Library as an introduction to library and Internet resources for the Real Estate Industry. Please use the tabs at the top of this guide to find specific types of resources and information.

If you have any questions about this guide or need additional assistance with your research, please stop by the library or use the contact information in the left sidebar of this guide. 

For a complete list of course and industry guides created by the Nestlé Library, please visit our Research Guides page.

Subject Guide

Kelly LaVoice
Contact:
Business Research Librarian
School of Hotel Administration
G80C Statler Hall
kl734@cornell.edu

Website / Blog Page

Industry Reports

Need More Help?

The Nestlé Library provides research assistance to all members of the School of Hotel Administration. Stop by the library, email the reference team, or call us at 255-3673.

We also offer personal consultations (individual or group) for more in-depth research assistance.

Industry Reports

Books

Catalog Search

You can search for additional books and materials related to travel and tourism using the library catalog search box below. 


Locating Books

The majority of hospitality and real estate books can be found in Catherwood Library, located in Ives Hall (ILR School). 

 

Books

The library has a variety of different books about the real instate industry, real estate investing, real estate careers and related topics. The books below are a sample of our collection. 

dfbhearhb

Ebooks

Need More Help?

The Nestlé Library provides research assistance to all members of the School of Hotel Administration. Stop by the library, email the reference team, or call us at 255-3673.

We also offer personal consultations (individual or group) for more in-depth research assistance.

Specialty Resources

Need More Help?

The Nestlé Library provides research assistance to all members of the School of Hotel Administration. Stop by the library, email the reference team, or call us at 255-3673.

We also offer personal consultations (individual or group) for more in-depth research assistance.

Nestlé Library

These speciality resources cannot be accessed remotely, and are thus only available in the Nestlé Library. Nestlé Library is located inside the Marriott Student Learning Center on the ground floor of Statler Hall. 

Specialty

Some of our most  real estate resources are only available on campus in the Nestle Library. Read the information below to determine if any of these specialized resources would be of interest, then visit the Nestle Library to access the data. 


CoStar: only available in Nestle Library
A major resource for commerical real estate information and analysis. CoStar is designed to help commerical real estate professionals find properties, market properties and analyze properties. CoStar can be used to identify commerical properties in a specific geographic area, view sales comps, idetnify and analyze competition, etc. To start using CoStar, stop by the Nestle Library and a librarian will log you into the machine. 


Real Capital Analytics: only available in Nestle Library

Real Capital Analytics' services are based on their database of commercial property transactions ($10 million or greater globally and $2.5 million or greater in the U.S.) coveirng office, industrial, retail, multi-family, hotel and development sites. Similar to CoStar, Real Capital Analytics is on available on one terminal in the Nestle Library.


Bloomberg: only available in Nestle, Mann, and Management Libraries

One of the world's leading financial databases, Bloomberg also includes a significant amount of information related to real estate. Access to the Bloomberg system is limited to a dedicated Bloomberg terminal. There are Bloomberg terminals at several campus libraries, including the Nestle Library and the Johnson School Library. Bloomberg is a command driven system. New Bloomberg users can start by looking at specific REIT security or looking at the Real Estate Industy page.  Some relevant real estate commands include:

  • Real Estate Main Menu= RE <Go>
  • Real Estate Vital Statistics: VST <Go>
  • REIT Index: BBREIT <Go>
  • Ratios for a specific REIT: ticker symbol then type DES3 <Go>

Journals

Journals

These journals provide current news and analysis specific to the real estate industry