Skip to main content

BEE 2600: Principles of Biological Engineering (Fall 2016): Home

About Mann

mann logo

Albert R.
Mann Library

mann-ref@cornell.edu
(607) 255-5406

Mann Library supports the instruction, research, and extension programs of Cornell University's College of Agriculture and Life Sciences and College of Human Ecology.

No matter where you are in the research process, we encourage you to ask for information consulting services. Email us your question or request a consultation. Reference librarians are here to assist.

Help

Ask your questions in person, by phone, by e-mail, or via 24/7 chat.

Reference Desk Directory

Mann Library Reference phone number: 255-5406

 


Reference Desk Schedules in Mann

Mann Library Reference e-mail address: mann-ref@cornell.edu


Request a one-on-one Research Consultation

Student survey (fall 2016)

Cornell University Library would like your impression of our presentation before your class today. Please take a moment to fill out this survey below--it should take no more than 5 minutes of your time.

Getting Started with Research

The tutorials and resources in this guide contain the information you'll need to complete your assignments.

 

By the end of this class you'll be able to:

  • Find authoritative background sources in order to gather information about terms and methods in your field
  • Identify influential researchers, research groups, journals and articles in your subject area
  • Search article databases and retrieve highly cited peer-reviewed scholarly articles and the articles that cite them easily and efficiently
 

BEE 2600 students: Complete the following case study tutorials

Getting Full Text Articles From Off-Campus

The databases, journals and other subscription resources provided by Cornell University Library are obtained from vendors via site licensing. This means that only current faculty, staff and students of Cornell University may get access to the resource's full text. While on-campus at Cornell, you should be able to get access without any difficulty. But while off-campus--whether in Collegetown or on the other side of the Earth--or when using a personal computer, tablet or other device, you may need to identify yourself as a Cornell user. This is usally done simply by logging in.

To get the full-text articles from off-campus (link goes offsite to another tutorial on finding full-text articles), try one of these methods:

  • use the Get it! Cornell links in databases

  • search the library catalog for the journal title

  • use the CUL Passkey bookmarklet

  • contact the librarians if you try these steps but are still having trouble getting access to something (i.e. running into a paywall, being asked to subscribe or pay a fee, etc.)

Contact Me - Jeremy Cusker, Engineering Librarian

Jeremy Cusker

Earth Science and Engineering Outreach Librarian

103B Carpenter Hall

jpc27@cornell.edu

607-254-6261

PassKey

Do you live off-campus? Are you studying abroad, doing an internship or co-op or attending a conference? Are you having difficulty getting access to licensed library resouces?

If so, try using PassKey. PassKey is designed to give Cornell community members access to licensed library resources while they are away from campus.

PassKey does not require any installation: Just click on the link or button below, put in your NetID and you should be granted immediate access.

CUL Passkey