Skip to main content

Biographical Resources: An African and African Diaspora Approach: Reference Books (C-F)

Use this guide to locate information about people of African descent.

Print Resources

Contemporary Black Biography. Detroit: Gale Research Inc.,1992-. AFR Ref. DT 18 .C76 (v.1-108) 1992-2013
This reference series provides biographical profiles of important persons of African heritage. Whether they are personalities from the news, selected 20th-century notables, or individuals who are not yet household names, these are the men and women who are changing today's world and shaping the world of tomorrow.

Dictionary of African Biography, Emmanuel Kwaku Akyeampong; Henry Louis Gates, Jr. Oxford; New York: Oxford U Press, 2012.AFR Ref CT1920 .D52 2012
Over 2,100 articles on Africans from prehistory to the present and from all regions and countries of Africa,

Dictionary of African Historical Biography. Lipschutz, Mark R. Chicago: Aldine Pub. Co., 1978. AFR Ref. DT 352.6 .L76 1978. (also in Olin and Uris Libraries)
Biographical sketches of over 800 Sub-Saharan historical figures. Includes bibliographic references.

Dictionary of American Negro Biography. Logan, Rayford W., ed. New York: Norton, 1982. AFR Ref. E 185.96 .D55 (also in Olin & Uris Libraies)
A comprehensive biographical dictionary based on scholarly research. No living persons included. Cut off date 1970. Persons with regional or local influence. Includes bibliographic references.

Dictionary of Literary Biography Documentary Series: An Illustrated Chronicle. The Black Aesthetic Movement. Detroit: Gale Research Co., 1982. AFR Ref. PS 129 .D552 v.8

Facts on File: Encyclopedia of Black Women in America: The Early Years, 1619-1899. Hine, Darlene Clark, ed. New York: Facts on File, 1997. AFR Ref E 185.96 .F2x 1997 v.1
This volume presents a historical overview of Black women in America followed by alphabetically arranged entries listing important Black women and the organizations they founded.

Facts on File: Encyclopedia of Black Women in America: Literature Hine, Darlene Clark, ed. New York: Facts on File, 1997. AFR Ref E 185.96 .F2x 1997 v. 2
This volume includes entries on individuals in the following subject areas; poetry, fiction, criticism, autobiography, and biography.

Facts on File: Encyclopedia of Black Women in America: Dance, Sports, and Visual Arts Hine, Darlene Clark, ed. New York: Facts on File, 1997. AFR Ref E 185.96 .F2x 1997 v.3
This volume includes entries on individuals in dance (dances and choreographers), sports (athletes and coaches), and visual arts (those engaged in painting, sculpture, drawing, quilting, and architecture).

Facts on File: Encyclopedia of Black Women in America: Business and Professions AFR Ref E 185.96 .F2x 1997 v.4
This volume includes entries on individuals in the following subject areas: aviation, arts administration, business, broadcast journalism, journalism, library science, the military, production (film, theater, television, music, and radio), and publishing.

Facts on File: Encyclopedia of Black Women in America: Music Hine, Darlene Clark, ed. New York: Facts on File, 1997. AFR Ref E 185.96 .F2x 1997 v.5
This volume includes entries on individuals and groups in the following subject areas: blues, concert music, rap, rhythm and blues, rock and roll, and soul.

Facts on File: Encyclopedia of Black Women in America: Education Hine, Darlene Clark, ed. New York: Facts on File, 1997. AFR Ref E 185.96 .F2x 1997 v.6
This volume includes entries on individuals and organizations relevant to the following professions: teachers, college faculty, college presidents, educators in special fields (e.g. drama), and educational.

Facts on File: Encyclopedia of Black Women in America: Religion and Community Hine, Darlene Clark, ed. New York: Facts on File, 1997. AFR Ref E 185.96 .F2x 1997 v.7
This volume includes entries on individuals and organizations in the following subject areas: club work, community service, organized religion, and social work.

Facts on File: Encyclopedia of Black Women in America: Law and Government Hine, Darlene Clark, ed. New York: Facts on File, 1997. AFR Ref E 185.96 .F2x 1997 v.8
This volume includes entries on individuals and organizations in the following areas: attorneys, judges, elected and appointed officials, and law enforcement officers.

Facts on File: Encyclopedia of Black Women in America: Theater Arts & Entertainment Hine, Darlene Clark, ed. New York: Facts on File, 1997. AFR Ref E 185.96 .F2x 1997 v.9
This volume includes entries on individuals and organizations in the following areas: comedy, film, musical theater, radio entertainment, television entertainment, theater, and vaudeville.

Facts on File: Encyclopedia of Black Women in America: Social Activism Hine, Darlene Clark, ed. New York: Facts on File, 1997. AFR Ref E 185.96 .F2x 1997 v.10
This volume includes entries on individuals and organizations in the following areas: civil rights, feminism, labor organization, social welfare, and community organization.

Facts on File: Encyclopedia of Black Women in America: Science, Health, & Medicine Hine, Darlene Clark, ed. New York: Facts on File, 1997. AFR Ref E 185.96 .F2x 1997 v.11
This volume includes entries on individuals and organizations in the following areas: midwifery, nursing, medicine, and science.

Fifty Black Women Who Changed America. Alexander, Amy. Secaucus, NJ: Carol Publishing Group, 1998. AFR Ref E 185.96 A48x 1999
These portraits tell the story of 50 of the most famous African American women. Included in this edition are Phillis Wheatley, Zora Neale Hurston, Rudy Dee, Marian Wright Edelman, and Angela Davis.

Fifty Caribbean Writers: A Bio-Bibliographical Critical Sourcebook. AFR Ref. PR 9205 .A52 F46 (also in Olin and Uris Libraries)

Africana Librarian

Eric Kofi Acree's picture
Eric Kofi Acree
Contact:
Africana Library

Telephone: (607) 255-5229

Email: acree@cornell.edu
Website / Blog Page