Skip to main content

ENGL 2045: Major Poets (Fall 2017): Home
 

A library research guide for students in Prof. Culler's Major Poets course.

Where to start

Need to search through the texts of Auden's poems?  They're in Literature Online

Looking for scholarly articles on A.R. Ammons? Try the MLA Bibliography

Not sure what "chiasmus" means? Check the New Princeton Encyclopedia of Poetry & Poetics

Wondering about Hopkins's use of the word "brinded?" Look it up in the Oxford English Dictionary

Want basic biographical information on Emily Dickinson? Try the Literature Resource Center

Care to hear Philip Levine read John Keats? Listen to audio poems in Columbia Granger's World of Poetry

Rare Books & Mss. Collections


The Library's Division of Rare and Manuscript Collections (RMC) includes 400,000 printed volumes, more than 70 million manuscripts, and another million photographs, paintings, prints, and other visual media. 

Welcome!

Click on the tabs above to find information on reference sources, journal article databases, the Library Catalog, multimedia poetry archives, and other tools. For even more, see the subject-specific guides listed below.


Robert Frost reads his poem "The Gift Outright" at the inauguration of John F. Kennedy, January 1961, flanked by former (and future) presidents Eisenhower, Kennedy, Johnson, and Nixon. Listen to the poem here.

Other Useful Subject Guides

English Literature

American Literature

Comparative Literature

Feminist, Gender & Sexuality Studies

History

Rare & Manuscript Collections at Cornell 

American Fiction & Poetry Journals in Olin Library

Subject Librarian

Fred Muratori's picture
Fred Muratori
Help from a librarian (you might not get me) is only a click away:

Contact Info:
106 Olin Library
Cornell University
(607) 255-6662
Send Email